top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJessica Seale

Forever


“The grass withers and the flowers fade, but the Word of our God endures forever.” –

Isaiah 40:8

I pulled out my phone, and looked at it. Again. Checking to see whether that person

had responded to my message or hoping that more people had liked my post. Yes, whether I

like to admit it or not, I often live for the approval of others. In my work, in my writing,

and especially on social media. I wrote a poem recently, in which I address this.

Water

I can’t live without it

To be surrounded by it could kill me

How many other things do I wrestle with

In the quest for identity?

One drop of approval can buoy me

One once of doubt can sink

All the flowing current of What makes me feel complete

But water has a source and ships have anchors

My identity comes from Him

He charts my heart’s course

When drowning in the deep

To His arms I will leap

I believe part of approval addiction revolving around this question: “life, what really is the purpose of it? Many have asked this question, coming up with nearly as many answers. As I overcome the tendency to crave the approval of others, I address this question. The answer I come up with is that It’s all about God and His Word- What He says about us. That where our

approval should ultimately come from. Because His Word and His approval last forever.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page